Blues Festival: The Aftermath

June 24, 2006

Today was the day of the blues festival. I got up at 2:30, ate lunch, did some internet, and then left.

I rode my bike to the show because i knew my feet would be hurting if i had to stand on my feet all day, and then walk back home. When I got there, i locked my bike up, but my lock didn’t want to secure. I spent about 20 minutes battling it until it finally locked, and let me walk away with my key.

I managed to walk right in without anybody asking for my ticket. I’m not sure how, but they just watched me walk right by without saying a thing.

The event was much busier than last year. Much more people walking around. The stage was the same, just about every event here in oxford uses the same stage. But, the whole thing was much more lively.

I wore a hat, and my sunglasses to the show to prevent overheating.

After an hour and a half i walked across the street to ken’s coney island for dinner. I didn’t feel like getting in one line to buy food tickets to get in another line to buy food with the tickets. The food did look good though.

Ate a cheeseburger and fries at ken’s. They were good.

Came back, walked right in without being asked for my ticket.

Walked into the beer tent, and got my arm band. Bought one 20oz beer for $5. Drank it next to the rednecks hanging out in the beer tent, the only area where you are allowed to drink alcoholic beverages. One redneck had a hot girlfriend, but i resisted looking at her to avoid being beaten up the redneck who would be sure to become enraged if I had looked at her.

As I walked out, some cop said “hey mikey”. I think i recognized the voice, but I don’t know.. yeah, alright. I did say hey back though.

Watched some bands, they were good. More energy than the bands who played last year.

Sat down by the lake with some people and this fat girl wearing a “PRO-LIFE T-SHIRT DAY” shirt walked past us to lay down on her towl. When she lied down, the front of the shirt was shown. “ABORTION KILLS” with a picture of an aborted fetus. I made sure to hang out to say something when she got up to leave. Skip ahead 15 minutes, i had been holding a happy-man smile for about 10 minutes, and when she got up i looked at her with a smiling face and said “I like your shirt”. She gave me the typical look a fat, hot (temperature), angry, pro-life women gives a man.

After that, I was feeling pretty fresh. So, I walked around several of the booths up around the festival. The most interesting one was one for the “NORTH OAKLAND COUNTY REPUBLICAN CLUB”. I stopped by there, and looked at some of the buttons they were selling at $3.00 a peice. Here’s a short list of some of the pins:

  • “Somewhere in arkansas, a village is missing it’s idiot” with a photo of hillary clinton
  • “Big-Ot – A conservative winning an argument with a liberal”
  • “No Gun Control / Yes Border Control”

I don’t think they did did much thinking when coming up with the pins, but I made sure to smile, and laugh at many of them. Eventually, one of the guys came up to talk to me, and he asked me if I was a conservative. I told him “I’m a big time liberal”, and we had a fun chat about how liberals are destroying america, and all these liberal countries are just lazy pussies.

So then i watched a bunch of bands. Each band was great in their own way. Instrumental blues sounds pretty awesome. Then while i was watching this one band, this cop walked up to me and asked to see my wristband. The band was still playing, and i pulled out my ticket to show him. he said “NO! YOU NEED TO HAVE A WRISTBAND! I DON’T CARE IF YOU HAVE A TICKET! YOU NEED A WRISTBAND!”.

So, I walked all the way back down to the gate, and got my wrist band. Then I walked back to where i was, and watched the band for about 25 more minutes.

By that time, I had a big headache. So, I walked back across the street to the parking lot i locked my bike up at, and rode all the way back home.

The show was pretty great. I’m happy to have gone. I just wish I would have brought my camera along to take a picture of all the republican pins.

That’s all.

2 Responses to “Blues Festival: The Aftermath”

  1. Jon Says:

    Sexay. Nice hat.

    The easiest way to give up masturbation is to replace it with something like sex or Scrabble.

  2. Krista Antonini Says:

    I like Leadbelly. He’s good. You should check him out.
    Robert Johnson “That old Devil Music” is great stuff.
    Billy Holiday is Jazz but you might want to check out her stff too. I’ve got the Decca Box set of hers and it’s great.
    My friend in Portland likes Howlin’ Wolf.


Leave a Reply

