more wacky gnax news.

February 27, 2006

Hello Internets,

I got to sleep in today, huzzah.

As i was waking up, dad was leaving. So, he got in his car, and then left.

Then a few minutes later, he came back. I asked him where the airport was. He said “Detroit”, i say “I need to get there some time this week”, he says “well, you can’t just leave. You have to talk to your mother about it”.

So, then he leaves saying he needs to go to a team meeting (he’s on a cycling team).

Then i do some internet things. Reply to a message from jeff telling him i found an airport, the one that’s down in detroit.

I look up some rates on nwa.com, a round trip flight is in the $350+ range.

Then mom comes home. About 5 minutes after she’s in the door, I say “I have a job interview.”, she immediately puts on her concerned face, and says “where?”, I say “Atlanta.”, she says “you don’t have a car, you’re not going”. I say “I have to go.”, she says “No you don’t.”, I say “Yes I do, and proceed to my room where i lay down in bed.”. Then a big argument starts, and she gives me a whole round of ‘reasons’ why I shouldn’t go, reasons such as “your brain can not handle this responsibility” (that’s a new one!), “How are you goign to travel in a big city? You don’t have a car!”, “You’re going to get robbed!”.

It’s all ridiculous really. Any time I have something to lose, she’s quick to threaten to kick me out. But, when I have something to gain from leaving, she’s quick to shelter me. I guess this is seperation anxiety.

So, then i walk back out to the living room where she’s watching tv, and sit down here. After realizing her threats of robbery, and homelessness have not phazed me, she puts on her best concerned mother voice, and tells me that I need to get a car, and my license. After realizing i’m starting to turn around, she brings out some new, completely unfounded threats. Saying I won’t have enough money for rent, etc.

Throughout the argument, I repeatedly told her that it doesn’t matter, and I’m leaving. She repeatedly told me that I’m not. I don’t know how she’s going to prevent me from leaving, being that I’m a legal adult and all. I don’t think the cops can return me to her if she calls them. If she can.. well, that would be an interesting event.

Around 5:30pm, they went out for dinner. I knew they would talk about this, and I knew the dad would probably fold under pressure from mom.

Then they came home, we didn’t say anything.

Around 9, after mom had gone to bed, dad and I had a chat. He pushed some of the mom’s agendas; getting robbed, needing a car, etc. I told him I’m going to leave regardless if they support my decision or not. He told me that he could try, but it’s a long drive, and he would have to take a day off work to get me out there.

So, I’m going to have to find a cab service in the coming days..

I don’t think things will work out well if I don’t get the job and have to move back in here. Well, I’m going to have to return to michigan just to get my stuff.

I’ve been nervous all day.

and that’s all i have to say.

Leave a Reply

