Formataphobic.

April 18, 2005

I’ve had this computer since Christmas Eve, and i haven’t formatted it once.

I don’t really want to format. I have alot of data on this hard drive that i use on a regular basis. I have backed up most of it to my other 120gb drive, that is attached via an external usb 2.0 enclosure. But it would take a while to restore all that data.

I regularly defragment this drive, just to keep everything speedy.

I downloaded a program called O&O Defrag which does an excellent job of defragmenting my drive. It has a bunch of data sorting methods like.. sorting files by access date, file modified date, file name, and file size. It does an excellent job of keeping my system running smoothly. Hell, this program even offers a way to defrag drives on remote machines.

I’m prepared to recover this system in the case that disaster strikes.

I just don’t want to format.

So, i will continue to hold backups, and defragging.

3 Responses to “Formataphobic.”

  1. Blueyes™ Says:

    I havent formated in well over a year…my theory is if it aint broke done mess with it and I dont have any kind of slow speeds either so long as you keep defrag.

  2. Krista Antonini Says:

    O.K.

  3. Krista Antonini Says:

    Death toll about 69 (INT)


Leave a Reply

